Planning Commission

This is the official blog of the Montgomery County Planning Commission.

View All Posts

Nov 14

2014 Montgomery Award Winners

Posted on November 14, 2014 at 4:09 PM by Rita McKelvey

2014 Montgomery Awards

We had a great time celebrating our 2014 Montgomery Award winners at our November 12 awards ceremony, which took place at Theatre Horizon in Norristown. Our event was enhanced by the talented students from The Culinary Arts Institute of Montgomery County Community College, who provided delectable appetizers for our guests. We were also grateful for the delicious platters provided by Wegmans King of Prussia. In addition to the awards, we recognized nine individuals who completed our series of sponsored planning education courses. It was a fantastic day for everyone! 

Our annual program recognizes the best in planning, design, and advocacy in Montgomery County and acknowledges the high-quality work and commitment of communities, organizations, and professionals. The three projects receiving awards were the Beaumont House Restoration in Lower Gwynedd Township, the Fort Washington Office Park Resilient Infrastructure project in Upper Dublin Township, and Towamencin Town Square Phase I in Towamencin Township.

We expanded our program this year with the addition of the Planning Advocate Award. This award recognizes citizens, appointed/elected officials or boards, and community organizations that have made significant and sustained contributions to advancing or promoting planning in Montgomery County. Luanne B. Stauffer, president of the Upper Perkiomen Valley Chamber of Commerce, is the well-deserving 2014 recipient of this award.

Beaumont House 
Beaumont House 

Beaumont House Restoration received a 2014 Montgomery Award for successful historic preservation and restoration, coordinated transportation improvements, strong community involvement, and extensive collaboration. This restoration is an excellent example of an adaptive reuse. Through an exceptional public-private partnership, this project helped preserve the historic character of the area while accommodating necessary transportation improvements. Read more… 

 Fort Washington Office Park Resilient Infrastructure 
Fort Washington Office Park Resilient Infrastructure

The Fort Washington Office Park Resilient Infrastructure project earned a 2014 Montgomery Award for creative vision, environmental mitigation, economic reinvestment, and successful collaboration. This innovative project, involving substantial investment and a comprehensive approach to the sustainable redevelopment of a significant regional office park, will achieve a major community vision. Read more… 

Towamencin Town Square Phase I
Towamencin Town Square Phase I                                                 Photo courtesy of PSDC
Towamencin Town Square Phase I, an impressive mixed-use project, received a 2014 Montgomery Award for innovative community vision and planning, extensive collaboration, effective site planning, and positive reinvestment and economic development. This project demonstrates how a successful public-private partnership can result in a well-designed development that accomplishes an important community vision. Read more... 

Luanne Stauffer
Luanne B. Stauffer (pictured standing at left) 

Luanne B. Stauffer, president, Upper Perkiomen Valley Chamber of Commerce, received the 2014 Planning Advocate Award. Luanne is an exceptional leader who has a sustained legacy of achievements in planning, collaboration, and community improvements. She has been an ardent advocate for the Upper Perkiomen Valley region for over 30 years, providing leadership in the community and economic planning within the region. Luanne’s involvement and activities come from her enthusiasm for her community and vision of achieving fair and reasonable planning for the future of the region. Read more… 

Learn more about the program and browse through our searchable database. All of our past and present winners represent best practices in planning and design in Montgomery County.


You must log in before leaving your comment